This week was pretty slow, as we were once again unable to make it into the pool. I dove back into CFD trying to analyse and optimize a propeller.

During my research into this subject, I found a pretty good youtube video on the subject, that showed me what I need to find to find the optimal propeller. These numbers I can then find using CFD analysis. I also wanted to do this with a spinning propeller, in order to give it the most amount of realism. This meant I had to learn how to do this with documentation that was basically non existent. A youtube video in a language I don’t understand was way more helpful than the official Autodesk documentation. I then found a seminar, where i found effeciency formulas, that I am going to use to optimize this prop.

Effecientcy Formula 1
This is the broad efficiency calculation for propellers
Effecientcy Formula 2
This is the more focused and simplified effeciency formula.

Unfortunatly I haven’t figured out how to make the propeller spin the right direction in the simulation, which makes me get spagetti like whats below. After that, I just have to figure out how to get all of the variables that are above so I can calculate the effiency, and figure out what I need to change.

spagett
I think this is what happens when the propeller is moving the wrong way, creating thrust in the wrong direction.