This week was a welcome break from the Pillow block that has given me much trouble. I started this week by starting the actual construction of the Motor Holder. I did this by cutting out the flat pattern on the water jet, and bringing the peices upstairs to the Metal Fab shop, who welded it up.

MotorHolder
These welds are glorious.

Next it was time to figure out how to do the sprocket stuff. This was fairly simple for the motor, but for the steering column side its much more difficult. It is essentially the same issues that I ran into with the bushings, but this time, because its fairly thick steel, I can’t just bend it open.

MotorHolder on the Golfcart
This is where the motor holder sits, with a chain between the two metal things.

At first I wanted to take the actual steering column out of the rack and pinion, and then chuck it up in the lathe and then push it over. Unfortunatly I needed a 3/4" allen wrench which not even auto tech has. Because of this we decided to abandon the lathe plan, and I have started to just sand them down.